Duke Nukem – Forever remains the same

Posted: July 5, 2011 in De thingz i buY

It was the start of the may I had pre – ordered DNF for PC.It was a steal at 450 bucks…very decent for a new PC game.

Episode I – First Access Club Demo Experience

The game released on 14th June with fans getting to play the early access demo on the 3rd of June itself(I was one of them!).Well I was super exited to play the demo first – already started stacking up beer to have while playing 😛 The cutscene played,launched the game in high-res,and there were these golden words – Its time to Kiss a** and chew bubble gum – I was like “Wow the Duke is here finally!”.Demo had a decent length/gameplay time of 30 mins odd.But there was this deep gut feeling in me,a silent thought after the end of the demo,”Did I like the game?” The answer was it looked just passable! 😦 But I dint speak out,I kept the thought for myself,may be the final version would play better.So i rather waited!

Episode II – Full Retail Cracked Version Experience

The Game launched on time,gamers all over the world start playing Duke Nukem,the cracked copy was out on the very next day of the release.But I waited for my original copy to arrive.It was the 20th june,it dint arrive yet!IGN/Metascore review arrive though – averaged at 55%!Now THAT was a disaster!An Epic game like Duke Nukem wasnt meant to fail this much!Well looking into the critics review though gave me a little hope,but none said the game was fantastic or great.I wanted to give the cracked version of the game a shot,installed it onto my hardrive to just check whether the gameplay engine was as similar to the demo version i played a few weeks back.IT WAS!Holy cow tat sucks! 😀

Episode III – Duke Arrives

My original retail copy of the game arrived.The core reason for me to expect the original version was added benefits gamers get out of it.The STEAM achievements,multiplayer on dedicated servers and patches if at all the game is buggy.

Episode IV – My Review

Well,Duke kills the OctaKing and says “There Can be only one King”,sees a dead Isaac Clarke and tells “Thats one dead space marine”…I loved such moments.But the reallity is he pretty much did give out such one liners in the 1996 installment too and thats what got the fans rolling in for the game.

Duke Nukem Forever does NOT offer anything new or refreshing,period.The game design,geometry and physics are great.The textures looked just upscaled from the previous installment.No Storyline whatsoever(am not complaining).No New weapons.No Secrets(loved the companion barrel achievement though).Multiplayer sucks.The only thing which kept me going was the achievements list which were quite fun to achieve,like having steroids and beer at the same time!Well all this could not offer the game a replay value.Not much gamers run through a game all over again.But I can definitely say i will play L.A.Meltdown from the ’96 installment,atleast once in every month if asked to!But the same cannot be said for DNF.It is a let down.

My Final verdict,“DNF can be good/fun for new gamers who have not tried the previous installment,as for fans – they might like the game if they consider it as just an HIGH-RES expansion to the original Duke 3D”.

Rating – 6.5/10

Leave a Reply

